Injectables · treatment guide
Dermal filler (hyaluronic acid)
Injectable gel fillers for lips, cheeks, chin, jawline and under-eyes — Juvéderm, Restylane, RHA and others.
Also sold as: filler, lip filler, cheek filler, Juvederm, Restylane, RHA, Belotero, liquid facelift
What it's for
- Restore volume in cheeks, lips, chin, jawline, under-eyes, or temples
- Smooth lines and folds caused by volume loss rather than muscle movement
- Reshape or enhance facial contours
Before you book
What to ask, what to verify, and what may change the decision — before you commit to an appointment.
Checklist
- The exact product name (not just the brand family) and how many syringes
- Whether hyaluronidase is on site and who is trained to manage a vascular emergency
- The injector's license and the supervising clinician
- The cost of dissolving filler if you want it removed
- Whether a touch-up visit is included or extra
These are the items most likely to change what you pay, what you get, or what happens if something goes wrong. Take them with you — or and bring it.
From Vanity or Vice
Read the long version when this is the appointment you’re actually considering.
Spa Intelligence keeps the working checklist short. These publication pieces carry the fuller argument, source file and maintenance context.
- Treatment RoomDermal Fillers: The Face Is Not a Set of Empty SpacesA longer treatment-room file on structural goals, material choice, complications and maintenance.
- Before You BookHow to Read a Treatment Menu Before You BookThe long-form version of the identity, provider, burden, maintenance and full-cost questions.
- Maintenance MathThe Maintenance Math: What an Aesthetic Treatment Really Costs After the First AppointmentBuild the first-year and ongoing number from the written plan rather than the smallest menu price.
The ongoing commitment
The first appointment is one number. The useful number is the commitment you can reconstruct from the written plan: what it takes to start, what lands inside the first 12 months, and what an ordinary maintenance year looks like after that.
To start
Everything required before the first meaningful result: the initial session or series, mandatory add-ons, deposits and planned review.
First 12 months
The starting course plus repeats, maintenance visits and known follow-up costs that fall inside the first year.
A normal maintenance year
What the plan costs after the initial course is over. Keep this separate from the first-year number so a package does not make upkeep disappear.
What the treatment guide says to clarify
Filler is gradually absorbed. Ask how long the specific product typically lasts, how often you'd repeat, and what the annual cost looks like. Some practices recommend partial refills rather than full replacement.
What belongs on the receipt
- How many sessions or units the starting plan actually includes.
- Which follow-up, touch-up or review is included and which is separately priced.
- When credits, packages or banked units expire and what happens if the plan changes.
- What the practice expects maintenance to look like after the initial course.
Published interval · not this place’s plan
Results reported to last: 4–12 months
Repeated as it wears off, that is 1–3 repeat visits in twelve months.
A row of the page's table of how long fillers typically last, for hyaluronic acid gel. Other filler materials last differently.
Source: American Academy of Dermatology — Fillers: FAQs · “Hyaluronic acid gel: 4 to 12 months” · checked Sep 24, 2026
Do not make the benchmark do the quote’s job.
Published averages have a source year. Reader ranges have a quote month and a rolling inclusion window. Neither is a current local quote, and a per-unit number is not interchangeable with a per-session number. Keep the dates and units attached when you compare.
What the menu name doesn’t tell you
The exact product line, how many syringes, where it will be placed, and whether a dissolving agent and a trained clinician are on hand if a vessel is affected.
How it’s priced
Per syringe. Different products in the same brand family are approved for different areas — the family name alone doesn’t tell you which one.
What a complete quote says
A written quote that answers the questions has:
- The exact product name (not just the brand family)
- Number of syringes and syringe size
- Areas to be treated
- Whether a touch-up visit is included, and its cost
- The cost of dissolving filler if you need or want it removed
Products and devices you may hear named
What each one is and what its FDA record shows — authorization, labeled uses, warnings, and how to check it’s the real thing.
- Juvéderm Voluma XCAllergan Aesthetics (AbbVie) · FDA-approved medical device (PMA)
- Juvéderm Volbella XCAllergan Aesthetics (AbbVie) · FDA-approved medical device (PMA)
- Restylane-LGalderma (PMA applicant: Q-Med AB) · FDA-approved medical device (PMA)
- Restylane KysseGalderma (PMA applicant: Q-Med AB) · FDA-approved medical device (PMA)
- RHA 4Teoxane S.A. · FDA-approved medical device (PMA)
- Belotero BalanceMerz North America, Inc. · FDA-approved medical device (PMA)
Who performs it
Fillers are prescription medical devices. Who may inject and what supervision is required varies by state — see your state page.
Ask these three first
- Which exact product, how many syringes, and which areas?
- Is hyaluronidase on site today, and who is trained to use it if a blood vessel is affected?
- Who injects, under which license, and who is the supervising clinician?
Phrases worth a second look
“Liquid nose job” or “non-surgical rhinoplasty”
Ask whether the product is approved for that area and how vascular risk is managed.
“Korean” or imported filler
Products not approved for US sale can’t be looked up in FDA databases. Ask for the US carton.
Filler parties or events
A party is not a clinical setting. Ask where emergency supplies and a licensed clinician are.
The 2 a.m. plan
If something is wrong tonight, the plan should cover:
- Blanching, dusky or mottled skin, or severe pain after filler needs immediate contact — who answers, day and night?
- A written plan for a blocked blood vessel, including dissolving agent on site
- Where they would send you for emergency care, and who pays for correction
If you think it’s an emergency, call 911 or go to an emergency department.
The days after
Worth asking before the appointment, not after:
- What swelling and bruising should I plan my calendar around?
- When is the review, and is a top-up included or extra?
Watch from the source
Explainers picked for the question each one answers. They open on YouTube; nothing plays on this site, and none of them is about a particular clinic.
Proxima Clinical Research · Some background helps
The Difference Between FDA Registered, Cleared, Granted, Authorized and Approved (opens YouTube in a new tab)
A regulatory consultancy walking through five distinct statuses and the evidence burden attached to each.
- What it answers
- What registered, cleared, granted, authorized and approved each legally mean.
- What it doesn’t
- Whether a specific device is right for you, or what result to expect.
Why it’s here: Registration is a listing. Clearance is a similarity argument. Approval is a review of evidence. Ask which of the five the machine holds, and for what indication.
US regulatory framework; no aesthetic-specific examples. · Checked Sep 8, 2026
American Med Spa Association (AmSpa) · Some background helps
Med Spa Law: Who Can Perform Injectable Treatments in a Medical Spa (opens YouTube in a new tab)
Trade-association legal counsel on delegation, supervision and medical-director accountability under state practice acts.
- What it answers
- Who may legally perform a medical aesthetic act, and who carries the liability.
- What it doesn’t
- Whether an injectable is appropriate for you, or which clinic to pick.
Why it’s here: Med spas run on delegation: a physician holds the authority, someone else holds the syringe. Ask who the medical director is and whether they are on site.
US-specific, and supervision rules differ sharply by state. · Checked Sep 8, 2026
Sara Shikhman, Esq. · Detailed
2026 Compliance Rules Every Med Spa & Medical Practice Needs to Know (opens YouTube in a new tab)
A healthcare attorney specialising in med-spa regulation, covering ownership, delegation and supervision as legal obligations.
- What it answers
- How ownership and supervision rules decide who may do what, and under whose authority.
- What it doesn’t
- Any named clinic's compliance, or whether you should book.
Why it’s here: The person holding the syringe and the person legally responsible are frequently not the same person. This explains why, which makes it a question you can ask.
US, framed for operators rather than patients; rules vary by state. · Checked Sep 8, 2026
Dermapedia · Some background helps
Botox, Dysport, Xeomin, Jeuveau, Daxxify - Dermatologist Comparison! (opens YouTube in a new tab)
A dermatology education channel comparing the licensed neurotoxins by formulation and unit convention rather than promoting one.
- What it answers
- Why five neurotoxins are distinct products whose units do not convert between brands.
- What it doesn’t
- Which toxin you should have, or how many units you need.
Why it’s here: A Dysport unit is not a Botox unit. Price per unit means nothing until you know the brand, so ask which product and how many units are going in.
Brand availability and licensed indications differ by country. · Checked Sep 8, 2026
Money explainers
The pricing terms that come up with this treatment, explained:
Published national average fees
National averages, as published by plastic surgery societies. They aren’t a quote and they aren’t a fair price for you. They say nothing about the product, the amount, or who treats you.
ASPS
$715
Average fee published for “hyaluronic acid dermal fillers”
- Data year
- Not stated on the page
- What it leaves out, in the publisher’s words
- “This average cost is only part of the total price – it does not include other related expenses.”
- Source
- ASPS procedure cost page · checked Sep 14, 2026
ASPS
$743
Average fee published for “lip augmentation with dermal fillers”
- Data year
- Not stated on the page
- What it leaves out, in the publisher’s words
- “This average cost is only part of the total price – it does not include other related expenses.”
- Source
- ASPS procedure cost page · checked Sep 14, 2026
The Aesthetic Society
$700
Average fee published for “Fillers”
- Data year
- 2022
- What it leaves out, in the publisher’s words
- “These numbers only reflect standard procedure costs (surgeon and facility fees) and may not include fees for anesthesia, medical tests, prescriptions, surgical garments, or other miscellaneous costs related to your procedure(s).”
- Source
- The Aesthetic Society, Aesthetic Plastic Surgery National Databank Statistics 2022 · checked Sep 14, 2026
Compare with other treatments
See how this treatment stacks up against others on goals, tradeoffs, downtime, and maintenance — side by side.
The decision path
From wondering to decided — the steps this guide supports:
- Understand — What it's for, what it can and can't do — above
- Compare — How it stacks up against alternatives
- Ask — The questions to take into the room
- Check the place — Run the before-you-book check on a specific spa
- Record — Save your decision and what's behind it
- Reassess — Come back and update when things change
More in injectables
- Botox & other neurotoxinsWrinkle-relaxing injections — Botox, Dysport, Xeomin, Jeuveau, Daxxify and others.
- Lip flipA small neurotoxin injection to the upper lip, often sold as a low-price special.
- Biostimulators (Sculptra, Radiesse)Injections sold to stimulate collagen over several sessions.
- Kybella & fat-dissolving injectionsInjections sold to reduce fat under the chin, and look-alike “fat melting” shots.
- PDO thread liftDissolvable threads placed under the skin, sold as a non-surgical lift.